Who’s Lost TV Show Has Surfaced?


Some lost episodes of Classic Doctor Who, which were thought to have been lost forever from the BBC Archive, have been found.

Some of the Patrick Troughton serial – ‘Web Of Fear’ which featured the classic baddies the Yeti’s and the full serial called – ‘Enemy Of The World’ were located on film in a TV studio storage room in Nigeria, of all places.

The Beeb originals were taped over in the 60′s and 70′s to save storage space and reuse the original tapes for other new shows. Other classic shows fell foul of this deletion policy including Dad’s Army, Z-Cars and Steptoe & Son.

There had been many more originally missing but over the years copies of the shows such as international transfers, fan videotaped shows and even dubbed versions have been sent to the Doctor Who restoration team who remaster, repackage and release the modern DVD’s.

There currently remains 97 episodes from the Hartnell and Troughton era still missing in action.

But no doubt some more will turn up in the oddest of places of the coming years. Who knows, maybe one day there will be a full set finally.

The remaining missing episodes are listed below :

First Doctor – Hartnell : 44

Marco Polo – All 7 episodes
The Reign of Terror – Episodes 4 & 5
The Crusade – Episodes 2 & 4
Galaxy 44 – Episodes 1, 2 & 4
Mission to the Unknown – Episode1
The Myth Makers – All 4 episodes
The Daleks’ Master Plan – Episodes 1, 3, 4, 6-9, 11
The Massacre of St Bartholomew’s Eve – All 4 episodes
The Celestial Toymaker – Episodes 1, 2 & 3
The Savages – All 4 episodes
The Smugglers – All 4 episodes
The Tenth Planet – Episode 4

First Doctor totals – 12 serials – 44 episodes

Second Doctor -Troughton : 53

The Power of the Daleks – All 6 episodes
The Highlanders – All 4 episodes
The Underwater Menace – Episodes 1 & 4
The Moonbase – Episodes 1 & 3
The Macra Terror – All 4 episodes
The Faceless Ones – Episodes 2, 4-6
The Evil of the Daleks – Episodes 1, 3-7
The Abominable Snowmen – Episodes 1, 3-6
The Ice Warriors – Episodes 2 & 3
The Web of Fear – Episode 3
Fury from the Deep – All 6 episodes
The Wheel in Space – Episodes 1, 2, 4 & 5
The Invasion – Episodes 1 & 4
The Space Pirates – Episodes 1, 3-6

Second Doctor totals – 14 serials – 53 episodes

Totals26 serials – 97 episodes

McCoy lost episodes – (sadly none!) ;-)

Check out my Classic Doctor Who site for the Yeti’s background and more 50th Anniversary history.

About The Spaceman

The Spaceman is a resident of Carlisle, Cumbria, UK on the doorstep of the one of the greatest modern UFO mysteries of the 20th Century and the beautiful Lake District. The Spaceman's favoured area's are TV, Movies, Retro Games mainly Sci Fi and gadgets. The Spaceman is an amateur UFO buff but is also interested in local issues and digital video editing. Email:spaceman@cumberlandspaceman.co.uk Facebook:Cumberlandspaceman Twitter:Cumblndspaceman
comments powered by Disqus